Posted in Parenting and Motherhood, Tuesday Reflections

[NEW SERIES] Tuesday Reflections: Overcoming Times of Uncertainty

Hello there!

Today, I want to start a new series called Tuesday Reflections  🙂 It’s going to be an inspirational/devotional post where I get to share some of my personal thoughts about life, being a wife, motherhood, etc. My prayer is that through this blog, I get to share with you the amazing things God has in store for all of us. (And, also, I think this would be a good exercise and discipline for me to write more regularly…hihihi).

Read on 🙂

TUESDAY REFLECTIONS

Overcoming Times of Uncertainty

Deuteronomy 2:7 NLT

“For the Lord your God has blessed you in everything you have done. He has watched your every step through this great wilderness. During these forty years, the Lord your God has been with you and you have lacked nothing.”

There are times in our life when we experience going through a wilderness – it may be a time of great financial difficulty, a time of sadness or mourning, a time of sickness, or a time of uncertainty. And during those periods it is sometimes unavoidable to have an overwhelming sense of fear.

When I graduated from college in 2005 and landed my first job as a creative writer, I felt an immense excitement for the future. It was my dream back then to be a creative director and all I had in my mind was to do my best so I can achieve that goal. I have seen a lot of my batchmates in college switch from one job to the next and yet I remained with the company I was working for. Even if my starting pay wasn’t exactly what I was expecting to get, I pressed on. I valued and grabbed each opportunity to grow and learned as much as I can from my bosses. Eventually, I got promoted and so did my salary. I started to feel much more financially independent and was beginning to discover the “power” of being able to buy things for myself. During those times, I worked so hard and also learned to reward myself. I lived in the now.

And then adult life came. #adulting

I got engaged. I got married to the love of my life, Brian. We started our life together. Got blessed with a house and a car. Finally got pregnant. Then I resigned from work. Did full time freelance work. Then gave birth to our beautiful son, Owen.

This new season of my life was full of so many firsts. It was a bittersweet experience because there was a part of me who misses my “pre-adulting” life and yet there was also a part of me eagerly excited about the things to come. But for some reason, a great sense of fear overwhelmed my heart. A fear of the future. A fear of the uncertain.

I guess it’s because the reality of raising a child has been slowly becoming very real to me. From gushing over Owen’s firsts to witnessing his amazing development, Brian and I are now faced with the serious decisions that involve our son’s future. How are we going to discipline him? How we’re going to train him? How we are going to provide for him? Will our income be enough? What if we get pregnant again? Will we be able to manage? The questions and doubt in my mind slowly crept their way to my heart and ever since I have never felt so unsure of the future.

Remember What The Lord Has Done
The worries that I had, I must say are valid. Valid in such a way that these are real issues that Brian and I are faced with. But what’s wrong about it was my response – fear. Why? Because I forgot to remember what the Lord has done.

Psalm 78:7 AMP

“That they should place their confidence in God
And not forget the works of God,
But keep His commandments,”

I forgot that He is a God who blesses.

Deuteronomy 2:7a says, “For the Lord your God has blessed you in everything you have done.” God is the one who blesses. He is the one who enables us to work and He is the one who blesses the works of our hands so we can enjoy it. We can work all day and all night. But it is the Lord who blesses. It is He who satisfies. It is He who fills.

I forgot that He is a God who cares.
The Israelites’ experience in the wilderness, after leaving Egypt, is an amazing picture of how God demonstrated his mercy, love and care for his people. Deuteronomy 2:7b says “He has watched your every step through this great wilderness.” This assures us of God’s presence being with us wherever we go – whether we are in lush green fields or going through a wilderness. His blessings and love knows no place.

I forgot that He is a God who loves unconditionally.
Deuteronomy 2:7c says “During these forty years, the Lord your God has been with you, and you have lacked nothing.” It still amazes me how much God still cared for the Israelites for forty years in the wilderness even if their hearts were full of discontent, ungratefulness and rebellion. God still went with them, protected them, fought for them, provided for them and loved them.  How much more with us now, through Jesus Christ? We must always remember that God loved us even while we were sinners. And that His love is unconditional.

The future may seem too look scary. It may seem intimidating. It may seem to feel overwhelming. But now, there is one thing that I know I must do – and that is to look back and remember what the Lord has done in our lives – His faithfulness, His love, His provision, His grace.

Your Time To Reflect: Are you experiencing a time of uncertainty right now? Look back into your life and try to remember how God delivered you.

Leave a Reply

